World Chess Championship Cup

Chess World Cup Tournament Image result for Chess World Cup Dates: 24 Nov 2021 – 16 Dec 2021 Location: Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia

The Chess World Cup will officially start from November 24 and continue till December 16 in Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia. The tournament will follow a 128-player single-elimination format, with the finalists qualifying for the Candidates Tounament of the World Chess Championship.

  • Round 1: September 10th – September 12th
  • Round 2: September 13th – September 15th
  • Round 3: September 16th – September 18th
  • Rest day: September 19th
  • Round 4: September 20th – September 22nd
  • Round 5: September 23rd – September 25th
  • Round 6: September 26th – September 28th
  • Rest day: September 29th
  • Final and play-off for third place: September 30th – October 4th

. The FIDE World Cup 2023 (hereinafter referred to as World Cup) shall be organised in the second half of 2023.
1. 2. The governing body is the International Chess Federation (FIDE).
1. 3. FIDE Global Strategy Commission (hereinafter referred to as GSC) is in charge of preparing Regulations, communicating with
the participants and the Organiser, conducting inspections.
1. 4. The body responsible for adopting and changing these Regulations is the FIDE Council (upon GSC’s recommendations).
1. 5. At any time, any circumstance or unforeseen situation not covered in these Regulations shall be referred to the FIDE President
for the final decision.
2. Qualification
2. 1. 206 players shall take part in World Cup. Players shall qualify for World Cup by the following paths:
I. Reigning World Champion as at 1 June 2023.
II. Winner, runner-up and 2 other semi-finalists of the FIDE World Cup – 4 players.
III. Reigning Women’s World Champion as at 1 June 2023.
IV. World Junior Champion U-20 2022 – 1 player.

Back to top button